Enough?

I guess this is my first proper post on micro.blog apart from my doodling so I decided to have a go at putting something on my phone to remind me what life is about but not in a nagging way. With a bit of footaling about on Sketchbook and some finger prodding art I present to you my screenshot of my phone. As I have my phone with me virtually always and probably now use it 80% of the time pretty much over all other devices in my world. I thought that the gentle reminder would nudge me to do the right thing. I came across the 3 words site and tried it out a couple of years ago but could never really concentrate on it enough to follow it through. I liked the fact that it was an alternative to those pesky New Years resolutions that had faded from memory within a month of making them and that it was something to look at and review through the year even if in the end it produced no progress. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Step up “enough” and a theme I like the sound of not just for the ethos but also it being one thing, that needs my attention, which that I can concentrate on. I love the duality of the meaning; “I have enough”, “I don’t have enough” and “Is it enough?” I love that in any given moment I can ask “Enough?”. There’s a lot of talk around the internet of having periods of time for things, change, pretty much anything one wants to focus on. The year of… However I think that this one word covers it all, whether it be do I really need a new thing or shouldn’t I be looking at a particular negative or hindering behaviour or that I should push myself to do better things, go places. I know that one word on its own is one word but it’s a pretty good word to live by.

Tom C @stickmandiaries