Drawing a line

With the big day starting to recede into the distance thoughts turn to the new year and contemplating its direction. I am thinking of doing my drawn diary on a weekly basis, but I really enjoy the process of drawing it so am wrestling with the decision. However I’m aware that the time taken is distracting me from other probably more important things. Until now I haven’t really used blog(s) for anything serious but my intention is to record a bit more of thoughts and detail than just the pictures. Yes there are a virtual galaxy of writings out there in the webiverse and sometimes I think it feels like looking up on a clear and crisp autumnal evening at an ocean of stars, each one with a voice, each one with memories. How do we compete with that? Well I have found that more happiness is gained from not doing so and hence my withdrawal from other social platforms over the last year. Looking back at it there were a few interactions that made genuine connections even amongst my close friends and family but on the whole I always felt that there was a need to impress, keep up with or opine subjects I really wasn’t interested in or found draining. I realised that I and others were constructing virtual social networks rather than go out and cultivate real ones. Now I’m not saying all these platforms are evil but I personally feel that I would like to spend more of my time experiencing life rather than talking about it.

This leads me back to the webdiary, what reason am I doing it for, is it to record my time or is it to present it to the web? Who else would be interested in seeing the minutiae, maybe not even my family! But then I know I am doing this just for me and in the same way I can go back over the year in pictures on my phone I like the fact that I can pick out moments that are not captured by the camera and will add further colour to my memories of that time. Anyway this is all rather a long winded way of thinking about how I progress with it in 2019. But I think I will write something else for that.

Tom C @stickmandiaries